Excellence Awards: 31 March Deadline Approaches

Calling all those involved in forestry, woodland management, education and training – our Excellence in Forestry Awards are back!  This year we are looking for excellence in the North of England. Entries must be in by 31 March.

By Wendy Necar · March 7, 2023

We are seeking entries from woodlands large or small.

The Excellence in Forestry Awards shine a light on those doing great things for local communities or producing quality home grown timber. Also in the spotlight are woods that boost farm diversity and those where managers and owners are adapting the woodland to survive whatever challenges climate change may bring.

The Awards are also an opportunity to shout about great work being done by learning providers and organisations to interest children or adults in how to manage woodlands and to consider forestry as a career.

Applications are open for five key awards:

The deadline for entries is March 31.

RFS Chief Executive Christopher Williams said: “The world’s focus is on what trees, woodlands and forestry can do not just for the environment but for our health and wellbeing. We know the North of England is home to woodlands that inspire locally. By shining a spotlight on these we can help inspire those further afield.

“It is also an opportunity to showcase organisations teaching the skills that those working in woodlands today and tomorrow will need and those encouraging children and youngsters to care for our woodlands.”

The awards are the premier forestry awards for England, Wales and Northern Ireland. They were last held in the North of England in 2016.

Thanks to sponsors: Forestry Journal, FSC UK,  PEFC, Savills,  Tilhill, TreesPlease, Woodland Trust