THE ROYAL FORESTRY SOCIETY

REGULATIONS FOR THE ORGANISATION AND CONSTITUTION OF DIVISIONS

Made by resolution of the Management Committee on 22nd February 2005 as amended by resolution of the Management Committee on 7th February 2006, after consultation with the Council

1. Divisional Organisation

There shall be Divisions of the Society covering England, Wales, Northern Ireland, the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands as set out in Annex A.

2. Constitution of Divisions

- (1) A Division shall comprise the members on the divisional roll of that Division and a member shall be on the roll of one Division only.
- (2) A Division shall hold an Annual General meeting in each calendar year.
- (3) The business of the AGM shall include:
 - (i) A report by the Chairman
 - (ii) A report by the Divisional Council Member
 - (iii) The presentation of the Divisional Accounts
 - (iv) The election of Divisional officers and committee members (all of whom shall be members of the RFS) for such terms as the meeting shall approve.
- (4) The Divisional Committee shall include the officers namely the Chairman, the Council Member (which two officers may be the same person), the Hon Secretary and the Hon Treasurer (if appointed) and not less than four nor normally more than ten other members.
- (5) The Committee shall meet as often as it determines but not less than once in each calendar year.
- (6) The duties of the Committee shall be to promote the objects and interests of the Society within the Divisional area, in particular by recruiting new members, and to make representations to the Council or the Management Committee in any matter concerning the Society.
- (7) In each year the Committee shall arrange the Divisional AGM and not less than two field meetings together with such other lectures, demonstrations and events as it sees fit.
- (8) The duties of the Hon Secretary shall include:
 - (i) To give the members on the roll of members of the Division not less than twenty eight days notice of the time and place of the Divisional Annual General Meeting.

- (ii) After consultation with the Chairman to prepare and circulate agendas of meetings and to record minutes of the proceedings at meetings.
- (iii) To forward to the Director changes of the names and contact details of the Chairman and Divisional Representative, details of the programme of the Division for the following year by 31st December or as soon as possible thereafter.
- (iv) To maintain the accounts of the Division made up to 30th November and to present them to the Annual General Meeting and to send a signed copy of the said accounts (signed by the Chairman) to the Director by 31st December in each year.
- (v) To report immediately to the Chief Executive [or in his absence the Chairman of the Management Committee] whose responsibility it would be to pass on the information as soon as possible to the President and the Chairman of the Management Committee, urgent and significant matters requiring their attention or for their information.
 - e.g. significant matters affecting the Society in the public relations field, whether favourably or adversely; matters of serious financial import; legal notices; claims and potential claims; matters such as births, deaths, illness, honours and awards, or criminal convictions, affecting the staff, Council members, or other key members of the Society
- (9) The Divisional Committee may approve the payment of expenses properly incurred on behalf of the Society by Divisional officers but no other payments shall be made to the officers.

Annex A

NORTH-EASTERN (Northumberland, Durham and Tyne & Wear)

NORTH-WESTERN (Cumbria, Lancashire, Merseyside, Greater Manchester and Isle of Man) YORKSHIRE

NORTH WEST MIDLAND (Cheshire, Derbyshire, Shropshire and Staffordshire)

NOTTS & LINCS

MIDLAND (Warwickshire, Leicestershire, Northants and West Midlands)

EAST ANGLIA (Norfolk, Suffolk and Cambridgeshire)

HOME COUNTIES (Bedfordshire, Hertfordshire and Essex)

SOUTH-EASTERN (Kent and East Sussex Branch, Surrey and West Sussex Branch)

SOUTHERN (Berkshire, Hampshire, Wiltshire, Isle of Wight and Channel Islands)

GREATER LONDON

SOMERSET & DORSET

SOUTH-WESTERN (Devon, Cornwall and Isles of Scilly)

GLOUCESTERSHIRE

HEREFORDSHIRE

WORCESTERSHIRE

OXON & BUCKS

NORTH WALES (Clwyd, Powys-North and Gwynedd)

SOUTH WEST WALES (Dyfed)

SOUTH EAST WALES

NORTHERNIRELAND