Print page print this page

RFS - Cert Silviculture (Level 3)


RFS - Certificate in Silviculture (Level 3)


For those who already have an understanding/knowledge of forestry this could be the ideal course to validate that knowledge, and for those who have already achieved the RFS Cert Arb or RFS Cert Forestry with an opportunity for progression. With direct links from the subjects covered in both level 2 courses the Certificate in Silviculture at level 3 offers learner the opportunity to develop both their knowledge and skills at greater depth.

The theoretical and the practical components of the Certificate are studied separately and a number of local and land-based centres provide training.

To gain the full RFS Certificate candidates require the following:

  • (b) A suite of 8 competence qualifications. Some are compulsory to meet health and safety requirements. Full details are here.


(a) ABC Level 3 Certificate in Silviculture

This theory course is awarded through ABC Awards.

The theoretical components of the Certificate are covered in the ABC Level 2 ABC Certificate of silviculture. The subjects covered as part of this qualification are listed as 'units'.

Learners must achieve all of the mandatory units and one of the optional units to complete their certificate.


Full details and requirements for submitting complete applications can be found here.


Approved Training Centres

The ABC Level 3 Certificate in Silviculture can be completed at the approved centre listed below, or other land-based colleges offering ABC Awards qualifications:   



RFS Certificate - Application Procedure

Full details are available here.