Print page print this page

2017 Award for Silviculture

Eif Banner






 This Award recognises and encourages exemplary silviculture in commercial woodlands or compartments of less than 30 years age where quality timber or wood fuel production is the primary aim.

Silviculture 2016Siver Fordwestfield Wood Wn 311016Lr

Compartments of greater than one hectare which have been restocked or created within the last 30 years are eligible.  The maximum area that can be entered into the competition is 200 hectares, although this may form part of a larger contiguous forest. Management objectives and practices must be to produce a commercial crop such as timber, or short rotation coppice or woodfuel.

Entries are invited from all woodland owners or forest managers from the private, public or voluntary sectors from across across Eastern England and the Midlands (Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire, Rutland, Northamptonshire, Warwickshire and the West Midlands).

The Award will consist of:-

First Prize:  A trophy (to be held for one year) with a cash prize of £500 and a Certificate.

Second Prize:  A cash prize of £250 and a Certificate.

Certificates of Merit: These may be awarded at the judges' discretion.

Full guidelines and the entry form can be downloaded, right. The completed form should be sent by email to or by mail to RFS Excellence Awards, The Hay Barns,Home Farm Drive, Upton Estate, Banbury, OX15 6HU.

 An acknowledgement email will be sent to confirm that your application has been received.

The closing date for entries is noon on Tuesday 7th March 2017. The awards will be presented at Grimsthorpe Castle, Bourne, Lincolnshire ( on Friday 14 July 2017.

Case studies featuring previous Silviculture award winners are available here 

These awards are sponsored by:

Tilhill Forestry Logo Cmyk Tubexplusiconplusproposition
Get in touch
Tel:01295 678588
Fax:01295 670798