Print page print this page

Excellence in Forestry 2019


 Eif Banner



The RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards 2019 are open for entries to celebrate all that is best in woodland management, education and learning.

Entries are invited from all woodland owners (including RFS members) in the South East of England incorporating the areas covered by RFS Home Counties, Oxon and Bucks, Southern London and Middlesex and South Eastern Divisions.     

There are five categories. Follow the links below to find out more about each one and how to enter


Excellence in Silviculture


Silviculturesilver Silkwood Wn 050718 Crfsowendavies

Duke of Cornwall's Award for 

Resilient Multi-purpose Forestry

DOCsilverWitham Park 050718 Wn Crfsowendavies

Small & Farm Woodland Award

Farm Silver The Hillyfield The Aptly Named Hillyfield Nestled In Its Steep Sided Valley Credit Rfs Owen Davies

Community Woodland Award

Community Gold Hoefswill Taylor And Stephen Coffey From Hoef In A Meadow In One Of Their Memorial Woods Credit Rfs C Reid

Education and Learning


Ed And Learning Joint Silver Madley Primary

 2019 Award Map


Awards to the winning entries will be presented on Friday 12 July 2019 at the York Club, Windsor Great Park.

Over the years, the RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards have revealed some outstanding woods and  woodland management. To share Best Practice, case studies on some of the previous winners are available here.  

For more information please email Dr Rachel Thomas, Excellence in Forestry Coordinator at  or call us on 01295 678588

With many thanks to our 2019 sponsors: 

Tilhill Forestry Logo Cmyk  1 Fsc Textonlybrandmark Tm Rgb Forestry Journal No Strapline
 Savills Logo Large  Trees Please Master Logo 2015  Pefc Logo White Os



The RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards were launched in 2009 as the successor to two former national forestry competitions - the Woodlands and Plantations competition run in partnership with the Royal Agricultural Society of England, and the Duke of Cornwall's Award for Forestry and Conservation.

They rotate around England, Wales and Northern Ireland.


Presentation Table 2018