Print page print this page

Excellence in Forestry 2018


 Eif Banner


The Excellence in Forestry Awards are the premier competition for England, Wales and Northern Ireland, celebrating all that is best in woodland management across four different categories and recognising the very best in woodland and forestry Education and Learning projects.

The 2018 awards will be held in the West of England. Entries are welcome from all woodland owners including RFS members and education and training providers in Gloucestershire, Herefordshire, Worcestershire, North-West Midlands (Cheshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Derbyshire), Somerset & Dorset, and the South West (Devon and Cornwall). 



 2018 area map



Excellence in Silviculture


Silviculture 2016Siver Fordwestfield Wood Wn 311016Lr

Duke of Cornwall Award

Resilient Multi-purpose Forestry

Docgold17 Carburtonand Clumber P1060878

Small and Farm

Woodland Award

Farmandsmallgold2017 Nursery Wood Wn 0606

Community Woodland 


Urbanandcomgold2017 Warley Woods Cls Wn 060617

Education and Learning


Greener Lives In Frithy Wood Suffolk 2


Over the years, the RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards have revealed some outstanding woods and  woodland management. To share Best Practice, case studies on some of the previous winners are available here.  

For more information especially regarding multiple entries, please email Dr Rachel Thomas, Excellence in Forestry Coordinator at  or call us on 01295 678588

These Awards are sponsored by

 Tilhill Forestry Logo Cmyk  Tubexplusiconplusproposition
 Trees Please Master Logo 2015  New Rase Logo Rgb
Savills Logo Large


Pefc Logo


The RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards were launched in 2009 as the successor to two former national forestry competitions - the Woodlands and Plantations competition run in partnership with the Royal Agricultural Society of England, and the Duke of Cornwall's Award for Forestry and Conservation.

They rotate around England, Wales and Northern Ireland. And will be held in:

2019 – South (RFS Divisions: Home Counties, Oxon & Bucks, London & Middlesex, South Eastern, and Southern) 

2020 – Isle of Man, Northern Ireland and Wales